Asian Lettuce Wraps

I realize that I haven’t written on here in ages. The truth is, I don’t have much to tell. I study, hang out with my little man, see the big guy (hubby) between all of his business trips, and that’s about it!

Thankfully, I’m on a two week break from school right now and I have a bit of time to relax and enjoy myself. So of course, I’m hanging out a lot in the kitchen! Tonight I made Asian Lettuce Wraps and posted a pic on twitter and Facebook. I received a few requests for the recipe… problem is, I didn’t really have a recipe. I looked at a few different recipes, combined the parts that I liked (interpretation: ingredients I actually had on hand) and went for it.

Ingredients:

1 lb ground beef (could do with ground turkey, or with diced chicken breasts)
1/2 onion
1 tbs oil
1 tbs minced garlic
minced ginger
6 mushrooms
Green onions
Soy sauce
1 tbs flour
Rice wine vinegar (I didn’t have any so I just used red wine vinegar)
Hoisin sauce (I didn’t actually have any of this, but most of the recipes called for it)
Lettuce (bib lettuce is best)
Rice (about 1 cup cooked)
Rice paper
Sliced cucumbers (can add other assorted vegetables as well such as grated carrots)

Directions:
Dice onions and add to pan with oil. Start to brown. Add ground beef, garlic and ginger. Once mostly browned add soy sauce (I think I added 1/4-1/3 cup), rice wine vinegar and hoisin sauce. Sprinkle flour over meat then stir to combine. Once sauce thickens, add sliced mushrooms. When mushrooms cooked to desired texture, remove from heat and stir in sliced green onions.

Set up two plates – one with water, the other for building the wraps. Dip the rice paper in the water, then flip over making sure it is completely wet. Set on clean plate. Lay lettuce in the middle, top with meat mixture, rice and sliced cucumber. Then wrap it up like a burrito. Here is a link to post about how to use rice paper.

Whenever I have had these in a restaurant there has always been a sauce to put on it. My attempt to make it didn’t quite turn out, but here is what I will try next time: 1/2 cup soy sauce, 1/2 cup sugar. Combine with a whisk in a pan over medium heat until thickened, then remove from heat. You may need to add a bit or rice wine vinegar to this as well to get the flavoring right.

Enjoy!

About Miss Nickie

Christ follower, wife, nurse, adventure seeker, perpetual student, easily distracted, constantly busy, lover of sun, loving life.
This entry was posted in Foodie, recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

