Bacon wrapped jalapeno poppers

I LOVE appetizers! They are my favorite meal to eat, make and serve. When looking at recipes, if they contain cream cheese and bacon, it’s pretty much guaranteed that they are going to taste good. Of course, I needed to test that hypothesis.

The original recipe is from the Pioneer Woman and can be found here (the version in her cookbook includes cheese and green onions in the cream cheese mix).

As many of you know, I’m pretty much incapable of following a recipe. It’s genetically encoded in me (yes mum, I’m looking at you) to “play” with the recipe. I modified the amounts of some ingredients and changed the cooking times. So, below is how I did mine.

13 fresh jalapeños
One 8 oz package of cream cheese
2/3 cup grated cheddar cheese
2 green onions
13 slices of bacon (I used a little more than one package)
Bottled BBQ sauce
Toothpics
Rubber gloves

1. PUT ON GLOVES! I made the mistake of working with jalapeños once without gloves. Even though I was being careful and using tongs, I still managed to get it one my hands, and inevitably touch my eye. OUCH! I put a glove on my left hand to pick up the peppers and used my right hand for the knife and spoon.

2. Cut the jalapeños in half, keeping the steps intact.

3. Spoon out the seeds and membranes inside. If you like them extra hot, leave some of the membranes and a few seeds in. Note – do this at your own risk.

4. Beat together the cream cheese, cheddar cheese and green onions.

5. Stuff the jalapeño halves with the cream cheese mixture. I found it easiest to do it with a knife and spread it in. Fill each one – if you run out of mixture, just spread plain cream cheese into the last few (or make up more mixture, but I’m lazy, so I just spread the plain stuff in).

6. Cut the bacon strips in half. Wrap each jalapeño half with half a slice of bacon and secure it with a toothpick.

7. Lay out on a baking tray. Brush the top of each jalapeño with BBQ sauce. Bake at 300 degrees for 45 minutes. Check and see how they are doing. I then baked them for an additional 30 minutes at 375 degrees.

8. Serve them hot, or cooled down. Either way, they are delicious!! Enjoy!

Next time, I’m going to try skipping the cheddar cheese, and instead combine the cream cheese with fresh cilantro. I’ll let you know how it goes.

PS – one of my friends on Facebook suggested enjoying these with a cold beer (or two). That sounds like a WONDERFUL idea, and if we’d had any left, we probably would have done that.

About Miss Nickie

Christ follower, wife, nurse, adventure seeker, perpetual student, easily distracted, constantly busy, lover of sun, loving life.
This entry was posted in Foodie, recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

